Find a Christian store
Book Image

That Summer (Caney Creek Series) (Volume 1)

By Jo Huddleston


To escape his poppa’s physical abuse and their dirt-poor farm life, Jim flees to an imagined prosperous city life where he can make his own choices, ignoring God patiently knocking on his heart’s door. Settled in town, Jim strays from God and the way of faith his momma taught him. He meets a girl and loses his heart … and meets another girl and loses his willpower. Jim wrestles with social and moral dilemmas as he makes a choice beside Caney Creek that will alter the lives of five people.

Book Takeaway:

Whatever one does always has consequences. Our path through those consequences is many times a rocky journey. Our behavior sometimes does not please God but as His children we can do nothing that He won't forgive.

Why the author wrote this book:

That Summer is Book 1 in the Caney Creek Series. The setting of That Summer is the Southern Appalachians of East Tennessee where my ancestors and I were raised. I’ve listened to older generations tell stories at family reunions about time before telephones and automobiles. Their stories fascinated me and caused me to want to write about a time before I was born.


No reviews have been posted.

Write a Review

Developed by Camna, LLC

This is a service provided by ACFW, but does not in any way endorse any publisher, author, or work herein.