Find a Christian store Find a Christian store
Book Image

Springtime of the Spirit

By Maureen Lang


The winter of an unjust war is over. A springtime of the spirit awaits.

Germany, 1918
Four years of fighting have finally come to an end, and though there is little to celebrate in Germany, an undercurrent of hope swells in the bustling streets of Munich. Hope for peace, fairness—the possibility of a new and better tomorrow.
It’s a dream come true for Annaliese Düray. Young and idealistic, she’s fighting on the front lines of Munich’s political scene to give women and working-class citizens a voice in the new government. But she’s caught off guard by the arrival of Christophe Brecht—a family friend, recently returned from the war, who’s been sent to bring her home.
It’s the last place she wants to go.
Christophe admires Annaliese’s passion, unable to remember the last time he believed in something so deeply. Though he knows some things are worth fighting for, he questions the cost to Annaliese and to the faith she once cherished. Especially when her party begins to take its agenda to new extremes.
As the political upheaval ignites in Munich, so does the attraction between Annaliese and Christophe. When an army from Berlin threatens everything Annaliese has worked for, both she and Christophe face choices that may jeopardize their love, their loyalty, and their very lives.

“Beautifully written, passionate, thought-provoking. Maureen Lang weaves romance and political intrigue like no other. Not only did these characters become part of me, but their love for God and country inspired my own.”
––Tamera Alexander, best-selling author of the Timber Ridge Reflections series

Book Takeaway:

I was amazed at how the unrest of this era sparked the same kind of ideas we hear about from areas of unrest in today's world: equality, fairness, freedom. The characters in Springtime of the Spirit think about all of this, but the hero shifts the lens to one with God in the picture, when all some people want to do is force Him out. So my hope is that people will think about what's important in society, how people can be manipulated if we don't keep room open for God.

Why the author wrote this book:

When I envisioned a three book Great War series, each book was to take a slice of the war. Look to the East is set in the beginning of the war, Whisper on the Wind mid-war, and this one, Springtime of the Spirit, is set at the end. I was eager to explore what it was like in Germany after their defeat, and how the people dealt with the destruction of their army and society. But to make my learning experience fun, I needed to see it through the eyes of passionate characters. If history teachers could give lessons through romantic stories, I think we'd all be scholars...


No reviews have been posted.

Write a Review

Developed by Camna, LLC

This is a service provided by ACFW, but does not in any way endorse any publisher, author, or work herein.