Find a Christian store
Book Image

An Amish Year: Four Amish Novellas

By Beth Wiseman


Rooted in Love (previously published in An Amish Garden) Rosemary Lantz is doing her best to run her family’s household. She excels at all her tasks except one: gardening. Saul Petersheim has pursued Rosemary for years, but Rosemary keeps turning him down. What Saul doesn’t know is that she has good reason—something no one can know—especially not him. A Love for Irma Rose The year is 1957, and young Irma Rose has a choice to make. Date the man who is “right” for her? Or give Jonas a chance, the wild and reckless suitor who refuses to take no for an answer?  Irma Rose steps onto the path she believes God has planned for her, but when she loses her footing, she is forced to rethink her choice.    Patchwork Perfect Eli Byler has been a widower for two years when he chooses to make a fresh start in Paradise, Pennsylvania. As Eli juggles the admiration of two women, he meets Miriam Fisher—the most unconventional Amish woman he’s ever met. She doesn’t fit the mold for what Eli is looking for, but it isn’t long before Eli realizes that Miriam is everything he wants. But Miriam has no plans to get married—ever.  Will Eli be able to change her mind? When Christmas Comes Again (previously published in An Amish Second Christmas) Katherine knows the first Christmas without Elias will be hard for her and the children. But when a mysterious Englischer appears with photographs of her late husband, Katherine begins to wonder what other blessings Christmas could have in store.

Book Takeaway:

God always has a plan, and sometimes we must forgive ourselves the way He does before we can lead the life He intended for us.

Why the author wrote this book:

I love writing novellas. They have to pack a punch since they are shorter, so the stories thrive on action, dialogue, and pacing. My favorite novella of all time is included
in the collection—A Love for Irma Rose—and I wrote it in response to readers’ emails and letters over the years. Jonas and Irma Rose are my most beloved characters in the
Daughters of the Promise series. Readers asked me to write their love story about how they met, and eight years later, I did. It’s set in 1957, at a time when Elvis Presley and soda shops were
popular. Life was simpler for everyone, especially the Amish, who weren’t yet considered a tourist attraction in Pennsylvania.

Patchwork Perfect is also in this collection, and this story is about an Amish widow searching for a wife. He comes to Lancaster County and is quickly introduced to the district’s available ladies, although
the woman who interests him has never been married, and she has no interest in pursuing a spouse. But as secrets come to light, one woman must learn to forgive herself if she wants to have the
life she truly longs for.

And we’ve also included two previously published novellas in this collection—Rooted in Love and When Christmas Comes Again. Each novella has recipes and a reading group guide. The best part of this project
for me was that it was like visiting old friends while making new friends.


No reviews have been posted.

Write a Review

Developed by Camna, LLC

This is a service provided by ACFW, but does not in any way endorse any publisher, author, or work herein.