Find a Christian store
Author Image

Linda Brooks Davis

Author Bio:

LINDA BROOKS DAVIS pens stories inspired by her ancestors’ lives of faith and grit, tales that testify to the hope and healing found in Jesus. Linda was the 1st place winner in the 2014 Jerry B. Jenkins Operation First Novel contest. Her debut historical novel, THE CALLING OF ELLA MCFARLAND (Book 1 of The Women of Rock Creek series) released in 2015 from Mountainview Books. It won the 2016 ACFW Carol award in the debut novel category.

Her first novella, A CHRISTMAS TO REMEMBER, released in 2016 as a sequel to The Calling of Ella McFarland. Her second novella, A CHRISTMAS MEASURE OF LOVE, released in 2017 as a prequel to her second full-length novel, THE MENDING OF LILLIAN CATHLEEN, which released in 2018 as Book 2 in The Women of Rock Creek. Book 3 of the series, THE AWAKENING OF MISS ADELAIDE, released in 2019. The third Christmas novella in the collection, A CHRISTMAS TALE FOR LITTLE WOMEN, releases in September 2020.

Linda was born and reared on a farm in small-town Raymondville in the southernmost tip of Texas. She attended Abilene Christian University where she earned a degree in speech pathology in 1968. She maintained a forty-year career in public schools while rearing a daughter and son who are now veterinarians in practice together. As the eldest student in her post-graduate class, she earned a Master’s degree from Houston Baptist University in 2002.

Linda and her husband live in San Antonio, Texas and worship at Oak Hills Church. When not writing, Linda dotes on her six beautiful grandchildren, serves in lay ministry at Oak Hills Church in San Antonio, reads, and explores genealogy.

Books by Author

Book Image

A Christmas Tale for Little Women

Broadview is attired for Christmas. Adelaide Fitzgerald must provide two girls a Christmas like no other. Has she thought of everything? Has she accomplished enough? What would top off this Christmas in an extraordinary way? Addie's answer lies just the other side of Rock Creek. What will it take for…

Book Image

The Awakening of Miss Adelaide

Orphaned as an infant, Oklahoma heiress Adelaide Fitzgerald has enjoyed every advantage. She possesses a unique gift for music and has excelled on the opera stage in Italy. As a philanthropist, she’s adored from America to Europe. But Miss Adelaide is about to awaken in a 1918 nightmare. When the…

Book Image

The Mending of Lillian Cathleen

1914. American women are demanding the vote. The first flames of the Great War are igniting Europe. But a battle of a different sort rages in Oklahoma. The thermometer registers one hundred six degrees, an out-of-the-ordinary occurrence, even for the twenty-eighth day of July. But this is no ordinary…

Book Image

A Christmas Measure of Love

1910. Readers first met Lily Sloat in the award-winning The Calling of Ella McFarland, a novel set in 1905 Indian Territory prior to Oklahoma statehood. In A Christmas Measure of Love, Lily stands on the cusp of womanhood and her mother at the nadir of her life. Lily’s as straight as her starched…

Book Image

A Christmas to Remember

1908. Ella McFarland Evans and her husband Andrew anticipate Christmas in their cottage on the banks of Oklahoma’s Rock Creek. Scarcely a month after the couple married the last day of 1905, five orphaned sisters arrived on their doorstep, destitute and afraid. The newlyweds gathered them into their…

Book Image

The Calling of Ella McFarland

Ella McFarland’s dream is a teaching position at Oklahoma Territory's Worthington School for Girls. But scandal clouds her family name and may limit her to a life of grueling labor on her family's farm in Indian Territory. Her fate lies in the hands of the Worthington board. Might handsome Mr. Evans…

Developed by Camna, LLC

This is a service provided by ACFW, but does not in any way endorse any publisher, author, or work herein.